Conferences

Over 100 microfinance and microinsurance providers, industry think tanks, international experts and advocates met in Manila last week to engage in rounds of dialogues at the Microinsurance Learning Session Asia and Oceania: Implications of the Landscape Study held at Diamond Hotel, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Philippines.

In collaboration with Munich Re Foundation and Microinsurance Network, GIZ cited during the two-day learning sessions that microinsurance in Asia and Oceania is growing fast, four times as many people covered than the Africa and Latin America markets. More than 170 million low-income individuals in the region have microinsurance coverage in the period of 2010-2012.

The Landscape of Microinsurance in Asia and Oceania 2013 study report bares the state of microinsurance in this region as "outstanding".

The Landscape Study concluded the tremendous potential of microinsurance in Asia and Oceania for economic development. It recognized the efforts of governments such as India, Indonesia and the Philippines in developing regulatory frameworks as vital to the development of innovative solutions.

Landscape Learning Session Speakers

Hon. Gil Beltran

Closing Remarks

Undersecretary, Head, Chief Economist Unit
Department of Finance
Philippines
gbeltran@dof.gov.ph


Hon. Dorothy Calimag

Speaker, Session 7

Deputy Insurance Commissioner - Management Support Services
Insurance Commission of the Philippines
depcom.admin@insurance.gov.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S7_Health_IC_Calimag.pdf


Hon. Ferdinand George Florendo

Welcome Remarks and Speaker, Session 2

Deputy Insurance Commissioner - Financial Examination
Insurance Commission of the Philippines
depcomfin@insurance.gov.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S2_Regulators_Philippines_Florendo.pdf


Mr. Robert Kressirer

Opening Address

Regional Director
GIZ Philippines and the Pacific
giz-philippinen@giz.de


Ms. Veronique Faber

Moderator, Session 4

Executive Director
Microinsurance Network
vfaber@microinsurancenetwork.org


Mr. Januario Aliwalas

Speaker, Session 8

Executive Director
Insurance Institute for Asia and the Pacific
jaliwalas@iiap.com.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S8_WayForward_ASEAN_IIAP_Aliwalas.pdf


Mr. Arup Chatterjee

Speaker, Session 4

Principal Financial Sector Specialist
Asian Development Bank
achatterjee@adb.org

Presentation:
MLSAO_S4_Donors_in_MI_ADB_Chatterjee


Ms. May Dawat

Speaker, Session 7

General Manager
CARD MBA
may.dawat@cardbankph.com

Presentation:
MLSAO_S7_Health_CARDMBA_Dawat.pdf


Ms. Birgit Kerstan

Program Host and Moderator, Session 8

Consultant
GIZ
birgit_kerstan@gmx.net


Mr. William Martirez

Speaker, Session 5

Country Manager, Philippines
MicroEnsure
william.martirez@microensure.com

Presentation:
MLSAO_S5_TyphoonYolanda_MicroEnsure_Martirez.pdf


Mr. Premasis Mukherjee

Speaker, Session 1

Specialist and Practice Group Leader,
Microinsurance
MicroSave
premasis@microsave.net

Presentation:
MLSAO_S1_Landscape_of_MI_MicroSave_Mukherjee.pdf


Mr. Dante Portula

Moderator, Session 6

Senior Advisor
GIZ - Regulatory Framework Promotion of
Pro-poor Insurance Markets in Asia
dante.portula@giz.de


Mr. Aladdin Rillo

Speaker, Session 8

Senior Economist
Asian Development Bank Institute
arillo@adbi.org

Presentation:
MLSAO_S8_WayForward_ASEAN_ADB_Rillo.pdf


Mr. Ganbold Sodnom

Speaker, Session 2

Director
Insurance Department
Financial Regulatory Commission of Mongolia
ganbold@frc.mn

Presentation:
MLSAO_S2_Regulators_Mongolia_Sodnom.pdf


H. E. Thomas Ossowski

Opening Address

Ambassador
The German Embassy Manila


Hon. Vida Chiong

Speaker, Session 5

Deputy Insurance Commissioner -
Technical Services
Insurance Commission of the Philippines
depcom@insurance.gov.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S5_TyphoonYolanda_IC_Chiong.pdf


Hon. Dennis Funa

Speaker, Session 8

Deputy Insurance Commissioner - Legal
Insurance Commission of the Philippines
db.funa@insurance.gov.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S8_WayForward_ASEAN_IC_Funa.pdf


Dr. Antonis Malagardis

Closing Remarks, Speaker, Session 4, 5 & 8, Moderator, Session 2

Program Director
GIZ-Regulatory Framework Promotion of Pro-poor Insurance Markets in Asia
Antonis.Malagardis@giz.de

Presentation:
MLSAO_S4_Donors_in_MI_GIZ_Malagardis.pdf

MLSAO_S5_TyphoonYolanda_GIZ_Malagardis.pdf


Mr. Dirk Reinhard

Welcome Remarks and Moderator, Session 2, 3 & 5

Vice-Chairman
Munich Re Foundation
dreinhard@munichre-foundation.org


Mr. Jonathan Batangan

Speaker, Session 5

General Manager
Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions
jbatangan@pjlhuillier.com

Presentation:
MLSAO_S5_TyphoonYolanda_Cebuana_Batangan.pdf


Mr. Craig Churchill

Speaker, Session 4

Team Leader
ILO – Microinsurance Innovation Facility
churchill@ilo.org

Presentation:
MLSAO_S4_Donors_in_MI_ILO_Churchill.pdf


Mr. Shreeman Karki

Speaker, Session 2

Director
Insurance Board of Nepal
bsib@wlink.com.np

Presentation:
MLSAO_S2_Regulators_Nepal_Shreeman.pdf


Capt. M. Jamil Akhtar Khan

Speaker, Session 6

Chief Executive Officer
Continental Insurance Company
captain.jamil@gmail.com

Presentation:
MLSAO_S6_Takaful_CIC_CaptainJamil.pdf


Mr. Moch. Muchlasin

Speaker, Session 2 & 6

Head
Directorate of Sharia NBFIs
Indonesia Financial Services Authority (OJK)
moch.muchlasin@ojk.go.id

Presentation:
MLSAO_S2_Regulators_Indonesia_Muchlasin.pdf

MLSAO_S6_Takaful_OJK_Muchlas.pdf


Mr. Arman Oza

Speaker, Session 3 & 7

Chief Executive Officer
VimoSewa
armanoza@hotmail.com

Presentation:
MLSAO_S3_Industry_India_Oza.pdf

MLSAO_S7_Health_RSBY_Oza.pdf


Mr. Emmanuel Que

Speaker, Session 3

Chairman
Philippine Insurers and Reinsurers Association
pira@pirainc.com.ph

Presentation:
MLSAO_S3_Industry_PIRA_Que.pdf


Ms. Rupalee Ruchismita

Moderator, Session 7

Executive Director
CDR (CIRM Design and Research Labs)
rupalee.ruchismita@cirm.in


Atty. Arifa Ala

Speaker, Session 6

 

View/Download: