Selamat Datang!

Population: 221,932,000
Capital: Jakarta; 13,194,000
Area: 1,922,570 square kilometers (742,308 square miles)
Language: Bahasa Indonesia, English, Dutch, Javanese, and other local dialects
Religion: Muslim, Protestant, Roman Catholic, Hindu, Buddhist
Currency: Indonesian rupiah
Life Expectancy: 68
GDP per Capita: U.S. $3,100
Literacy Percent: 89

Indonesia is a vast equatorial archipelago of 17,000 islands extending 5,150 kilometers (3,200 miles) east to west, between the Indian and Pacific Oceans in Southeast Asia. The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan (Indonesian Borneo), Sulawesi, and the Indonesian part of New Guinea (known as Papua or Irian Jaya). Islands are mountainous with dense rain forests, and some have active volcanoes. Most of the smaller islands belong to larger groups, like the Moluccas (Spice Islands).

Source: National Geographic Society